At the Law Offices of Scott D. Henry, we recognize how important a clean driving record is. Our driving privileges are essential, especially for commercial truck drivers whose livelihoods depend on their ability to operate a motor vehicle. That is why we work diligently to challenge traffic citations and mitigate their impact.
If you have been cited for a traffic violation, contact our Murrieta traffic lawyers today. A swift response by our legal team could be your best option in fighting the citation and obtaining a positive resolution. We have an excellent track record in defending our clients against these violations. Our criminal defense attorneys work tirelessly to obtain a successful resolution by reducing the charge, reducing the penalties, or obtaining a complete dismissal.
An individual is issued a traffic ticket when they violate the California Vehicle Code (CVC). The CVC contains the statutes relating to the operation, registration, and ownership of vehicles in the state of California. Violations of these statutes can result in hefty fines, increased auto insurance premiums, the impoundment of your vehicle, traffic school, and a suspension or revocation of your driver’s license. Commonly cited traffic infractions include:
A ticket for running a red light is one California’s most commonly issued traffic citations. These tickets are some of the most expensive to deal with, often causing an unexpected financial burden. A red light violation typically costs around $500, which most people agree is not something they can easily afford. If you choose to complete traffic school, the costs will likely be even higher. Red light cameras are often used in California to catch those running red lights. These cameras are located at certain traffic signals, and when a driver runs a red light, the camera takes a picture of the offender’s car. It is not uncommon for there to be mistakes made with this type of traffic ticket, so it is important to have your attorney in Murrieta review the details of the citation and make sure the picture is indeed of your vehicle.
Under California Vehicle Code 23123 VC, it is illegal to use a cell phone or other handheld device while driving. This pertains to both talking and texting. For a first offense, the base fine is $20. For each subsequent offense, the fine increases to $50. It is important to note that this is only the amount of the base fine. Additional court, county, and state assessments are typically added to this amount, making the fine significantly higher. There are four exceptions to this law. Therefore, someone may use their phone in the following situations:
It is, however, legal to drive while using GPS or any manufacturer-installed system, such as Bluetooth. A lawyer in Murrieta could help someone accused of this traffic violation by determining if their citation is valid.
Our legal team at the Law Offices of Scott D. Henry understands the frustration of receiving a ticket. However, it is important to know you do not have to accept the ticket and pay the hefty fine. Our leading Murrieta traffic lawyers could fight the ticket to have the charge dismissed or reduced, minimizing any penalties or consequences. Contact our legal team today for a free, no-obligation consultation. We could review the details of the traffic infraction, go over the citation, and determine an appropriate course of action for successfully fighting your ticket.