Being accused of sexual misconduct is a devastating experience. It is terrifying to realize you could face a jail or prison sentence and mandatory lifetime sex offender registration. If you have been accused of sexual wrongdoing, we urge you to consult with our Moreno Valley sex crimes lawyers immediately.

Sex crime cases are pursued aggressively by local law enforcement and prosecutors. It is essential to have a criminal defense attorney with the experience and drive to defend you against these serious charges. Our skilled defense attorneys at the Law Offices of Scott D. Henry are dedicated to providing aggressive legal representation to minimize or prevent the harsh consequences of a conviction.

Types of Sexual Misconduct Charges

Allegations of sexual wrongdoing are taken very seriously by authorities. Some commonly charged sex crimes include:

  • Indecent exposure
  • Statutory rape
  • Date rape
  • Rape
  • Prostitution
  • Solicitation of prostitution
  • Child pornography
  • Lewd acts with a child
  • Oral copulation by force
  • Failure to register as a sex offender

Penalties for Sex Crimes

Sex crimes vary greatly in their nature and severity, but all are harshly punished. A misdemeanor sex crime is punishable by up to one year in jail, probation, and fines up to $1,000. More serious felony charges carry penalties of two, three, or four years in state prison and a maximum fine of $10,000. Another severe penalty is the mandatory registration as a sex offender. This can drastically affect your reputation in the community as well as your ability to obtain gainful employment or housing. Additionally, certain sex crime convictions count as a strike under California’s Three Strikes Law and could result in harsher penalties, including life in prison. An attorney in Moreno Valley could help someone accused of a sex crime minimize or avoid certain penalties by preparing a strong case.

Failing to Register as a Sex Offender

Certain California sex crime convictions order you to register as a sex offender. California Penal Code 290 PC requires sex offenders to register any time they change residences or every year within five business days of their birthday. Failing to register as a sex offender carries penalties that ultimately depend on the original crime. If the original crime were a misdemeanor, sentencing would include up to one year in jail and a maximum fine of $1,000. If the original conviction was a felony, the penalties are up to three years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000. A Moreno Valley lawyer could determine if they may be required to register as a sex offender in their sex crime case.

Speak with our Leading Moreno Valley Sex Crimes Attorneys Today

If you have you been accused of sexual wrongdoing, obtaining skilled legal counsel is essential. Our leading Moreno Valley sex crimes lawyers know precisely how these crimes are investigated and prosecuted in the area. We could implement an aggressive defense strategy and advocate skillfully on your behalf to help you obtain a positive resolution. Contact our offices today for a free, confidential case analysis, and let us begin fighting tirelessly on your behalf.

Our Locations
Law Offices Of Scott Henry
N/a