If you are facing assault charges, you are not alone. Scott Henry and his legal team have skillfully represented clients charged with assault and have a proven track record of successful outcomes. We understand how these charges are handled and know how to effectively fight them.

Time is of the essence in any legal matter, especially when you face serious violent crime charges. If you or someone you love has been charged with a violent offense, we urge you to speak to our team of San Diego County assault lawyers as soon as possible. Our defense attorneys could fight diligently on your behalf to have your charges reduced or dropped, minimizing any negative consequences.

What is Assault?

In California, assault is any intentional attempt to cause physical injury to someone. This also includes any threatening act or statement that causes the person to believe they are in imminent danger of being harmed. This crime is often confused with battery. Although these terms are often used interchangeably, there are distinct differences between the two. Assault is solely an attempt to physically injure another person. Battery, on the other hand, is the intentional act of using force or violence on another person. In simple terms, assault is an attempt, and battery is an act. No injuries need to be present to be charged with either assault or battery. An attorney in San Diego County could help someone understand their assault charges. 

Simple vs. Aggravated Assault

There are two varying degrees of assault in the state of California. Simple assault is the lesser of the two, generally being charged as a misdemeanor. It is defined as the attempt to use “willful and forceful force of violence.” Penalties for a conviction generally include up to one year in jail and fines of up to $1,000.

Aggravated assault is the more severe offense. It typically involves the use of a deadly weapon, an assault that causes serious injury, or violence against a vulnerable victim. The penalties for a misdemeanor conviction can include one year in jail and a maximum fine of $1,000. A felony conviction carries more severe penalties that include up to four years in state prison and fines of up to $10,000. 

Defenses Against California Assault Charges

Assault convictions can have a lasting impact on your future. In addition to having a criminal record, you may also find it difficult to obtain gainful employment and housing. Fortunately, a qualified San Diego County attorney could build a persuasive defense strategy depending on the circumstances surrounding the alleged assault offense. A compelling argument may include:

  • Self-defense or the defense of others
  • Lack of intent
  • Insufficient evidence
  • Mistaken identity
  • False accusation

Our San Diego County Assault Attorneys Can Help

If you are facing assault charges, we want to assure you that you do not have to go through this process alone. With over four decades of collective experience, the San Diego assault lawyers at the Law Offices of Scott Henry could aggressively fight the charges against you. Our long-standing relationships with local law enforcement, attorneys, and judges allow us to negotiate effectively on your behalf to reduce or dismiss the charges. If a conviction is unavoidable, we could advocate persuasively on your behalf to avoid severe penalties, such as jail time. Get the expert legal advice you need by scheduling your free, no-obligation consultation with one of our experienced criminal defense attorneys.

Our Locations
Law Offices Of Scott Henry
N/a