The state of California has extensive gun laws that impose certain rules and regulations pertaining to the buying, selling, and registration of a firearm. This comprehensive legislation can be confusing, therefore if you are looking to buy, sell, or register your gun in California, reach out to any of our knowledgeable attorneys.
Under California’s Dealer’s Record of Sale process, all guns must be purchased or transferred through a licensed gun dealer. This includes firearm purchases at gun shows or from a private party. California has a mandatory 10-day waiting period before a seller can transfer or release a gun to the buyer. It is important to note that a gun dealer cannot sell, supply, deliver, transfer, or give possession of a gun to anyone under the age of 21 unless they have a valid hunting license, are an active peace officer, or law enforcement agent.
Gun buyers will need to provide two items at the time of purchase. A licensed dealer needs to see proof of your age to ensure you are over the age of 21. This documentation may include a driver’s license, ID card, passport, or military ID. It is also necessary to provide proof of California residency. This can be accomplished by providing the dealer with a government-issued ID, residential lease, utility bill, or property deed.
As previously stated, all gun sales must be done through a licensed gun dealer. To become a licensed gun dealer, they must have a federal firearms license, a seller’s permit issued by the State Board of Equalization, and any business license required by their local government. Because gun dealers are licensed by the federal government, all dealers must also pass an extensive background check. If an individual or dealer sells, transfers, or leases a gun in California without a license, they face penalties of up to one year in jail and a fine of $1,000.
To register a gun in California, you must submit a Firearm Report Application or “FOR.” It serves as a declaration by the owner that he or she is the gun’s owner. When purchasing a gun within the state of California, the registration is done by the licensed dealer. However, if you own guns and move to California, you will need to submit a new FOR for that state.
If you have questions regarding the buying, selling, or registering a gun in California, or any other firearm-related questions, feel free to contact our skilled gun attorneys at the Law Offices of Scott Henry for a complimentary consultation.