Over the next few weeks, teens all over California will be graduating from high school.  While this is clearly a reason to celebrate, teens are reminded to do so responsibly.

California law enforcement officers know teens will be celebrating their newfound freedom and will be looking to make California underage DUI arrests by stepping up enforcement activities such as saturation patrols and DUI checkpoints.

For teens, it is important to understand that it is illegal to drive with any detectable amount of alcohol in your system.

For those who are under the age of 21, below are some of the California DUI penalties you may receive under California’s Zero Tolerance law:

  • Mandatory one-year suspension of driver’s license.
  • Proof of financial responsibility for three years (SR-22).
  • A fine of $380 and two points on their driving record.
  • $100 fee for re-issuance of a driver’s license.
  • Impounding of the vehicle for up to 30 days.

For parents, this is a great time to set a good example by not drinking and driving. It is also important to remind your children about the consequences of a California DUI.  Most of all, encourage them to call you rather than risking a California DUI or getting in the car with someone who may be intoxicated.

Unfortunately, not all teens heed warnings about the dangers of drinking and driving. If your child is arrested for underage DUI in California, the consequences can be devastating. Therefore, it is imperative to consult with an experienced California DUI defense attorney.

Our Locations
Attorney Scott Henry: Criminal & DUI Defense